Dhoni steps down, Ruturaj Gaikwad named CSK Captain in IPL 2024

MS Dhoni has stepped down as captain of the Chennai Super Kings, handing over the captaincy to younger opener Ruturaj Gaikwad beforehand of the IPL 2024.

“MS Dhoni has exceeded over Chennai Super Kings’ captaincy to Ruturaj Gaikwad in advance of the begin of TATA IPL 2024. Ruturaj has been an critical section of Chennai Super Kings for the reason that 2019 and has performed fifty two suits in IPL at some stage in this period.

The crew appears ahead to the upcoming season,” CSK issued a assertion on captaincy change.
The 42-year-old has received 5 IPL titles as CSK’s captain, which includes the title triumph in 2023 after defeating Gujarat Titans in the remaining at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. After prevailing the trophy, Dhoni demonstrated that he would return for the IPL 2024, successfully ending doubts about his retirement. Dhoni proven his global retirement on August 15, 2020. He guided India to the 2007 World Twenty20 title, the 2011 World Cup, and the 2013 Champions Trophy.
Ruturaj Gaikwad, a right-handed batsman who has been with CSK on account that the 2019 IPL auction, has proven superb shape and consistency. His technical prowess and composed batting fashion have solidified his role as one of the team’s key opening batters. In the IPL 2023 season, Gaikwad’s contributions have been instrumental, collecting 590 runs in sixteen appearances, showcasing his achievable to lead the group into the future.

The choice to appoint Gaikwad as captain comes with the endorsement of former India cricketer Suresh Raina, who has shared a shut bond with Dhoni and considers Gaikwad an best desire to lead CSK post-Dhoni’s era. Raina highlighted the significance of the IPL 2024 season for CSK, viewing it as a quintessential duration for the group to layout for the future beneath new leadership.

This management trade is now not except its challenges, as CSK has in the past skilled difficulties with captaincy transitions, distinctly in the 2022 IPL season when Ravindra Jadeja stepped down after simply eight games, main to Dhoni resuming the role. However, with Dhoni’s guidance, each on and off the field, Gaikwad is poised to steer CSK into a new era, constructing on the legacy left via one of cricket’s biggest leaders.

Dhoni has performed 250 IPL matches, accumulating 5,082 runs at an common of 38.79 and making 24 half-centuries. As CSK prepares to shield their title in the IPL 2024, beginning with a in shape towards the Royal Challengers Bangalore on March 22 at Chepauk, all eyes will be on Gaikwad as he takes on the mantle of captaincy, aiming to lead the crew to persevered success in the distinctly aggressive panorama of the IPL.
Dhoni lower back at the helm in 2018. The Super Kings appointed Ravindra Jadeja their captain in 2022, however he stepped down eight fits into the tournament, and Dhoni used to be reappointed. In 2023, Dhoni equalled Rohit Sharma’s file of 5 IPL trophy wins as captain. He holds the IPL document for most suits and wins as captain.

Gaikwad debuted for Chennai in 2019, and has seeing that long past from energy to strength, forging much-feared opening stands – first with Faf du Plessis, then with Devon Conway. He received the Orange Cap in 2021, and has already scored the fifth-most runs for CSK in IPL history.

His stint has earned him 25 India caps – six in ODIs and 19 in T20Is. In the latter, he led India to their first gold medal at men’s cricket at the 2023 Asian Games in Hangzhou, China.

CSK squad for IPL 2024:

MS Dhoni (c), Moeen Ali, Deepak Chahar, Tushar Deshpande, Shivam Dube, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Ravindra Jadeja, Ajay Mandal, Mukesh Choudhary, Ajinkya Rahane, Shaik Rasheed, Mitchell Santner, Simarjeet Singh, Nishant Sindhu, Prashant Solanki, Maheesh Theekshana, Rachin Ravindra, Shardul Thakur, Daryl Mitchell, Sameer Rizvi, Mustafizur Rahman, Avanish Rao Aravelly.

About Doramasflix

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *